Kill The Buzz Words

Engage. Missional. Evangelism. Emerging. Edgy.

Ever hear these words thrown around before?

All these words are linked to movements within the Church striving to live out The Great Commission of Jesus…

“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to he end of the age.” – Matthew 28:19-20319994718_qffwr-x31

So how do we (VI) actually do this?

How do we (VI) put meaning behind these buzz words?

There are a few things I’ve found that need to happen in order to engage the culture with the gospel and live missionally:

1. Leave our comfortable Christian zones and build relationships with those outside of our community.

2. Love the people in our culture (ASU, Tempe, MCC, Chandler) without expecting anything back

3. Listen to their stories, and not just try to fit them into ours.

4. Learn about the culture and the people in it. What they like. What they do. Why they do it, etc. 

5. Live among them instead of retreating to our Christian caves.

My hope is that our ministry can truly live out God’s calling for us by being in the city and campus he has placed us in.

Over the next few weeks I’ll be expounding on the 5 L’s above.  

Nick

 

4 Comments

Filed under Church, Culture, Mission, Tempe

4 responses to “Kill The Buzz Words

  1. Good thoughts – I’ll look forward to reading further posts. Sometimes I think the church is trying to hard to be creative and not enough energy is going into practical Christian living. God bless.

  2. I ‘ll be back to hear the rest. Love the 5.,. I am sick to death of buzz words. These 5 are just what Jesus did. God bless your ministry Shalom

  3. Steve

    I like the order you put those words in. I have found that the best way to build relationships is leave the “God-talk” at the door at the beginning of the relationship and show Christ through your actions. I’m sure some will disagree, but that’s what’s worked for me. Once people trust you and are comfortable around you, they are much more receptive and open to the gospel. I have tried to bring Jesus into relationships prematurely and I have lost the friendship because I freaked them out. But we certainly need to meet them where they’re at because they’re not going to come to us.

  4. Michael

    Nick,

    Great thinking. I like where you are going with this. I too am tired of buzz words. The 5L’s are really good, I look forward to you expanding on them. Do the 5L’s become a new buzz word now?

Leave a Reply

