Gospel-transformed Relationships (Colossians 3:18-4:1)

In this passage Paul address several types of relationship and how we are suppose to live in harmony with one another through the gospel. He addresses husbands, wives, fathers, children, servants, and masters. A major problem facing society is the inability for people to get along with each other. This rings true for Christian’s as well. I’m convinced that these are some of the toughest roles to maintain a loving, Biblical relationship with. Over the years some of the most difficult and frustrating relationship have been those with my  partents, siblings, females, those in authority over me (bosses, teachers, coaches), and those whom I’ve been put in authority over.

Only striving to obey the first part of what Jesus says is the greatest commandment: “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind” (Matthew 22:37) is a mistake Christians make. We many times forget the second part: “You shall love your neighbor as yourself” (Matthew 22:39). There is a huge emphasis in American Christianity on our personal relationship with Christ. The reality is that Christianity is not just personal; it is relational as well. When one becomes saved, they not only have a new life in Christ, but a new family is Christ as well.

A travesty within the church that in many ways we allow our culture to define and shape our relationships with one another. As Christ followers we are to not have our relationships defined and molded by the social standards and norms, but rather influence the culture we are in through our relationship with one another as well as those in society.

Read over the passage and….

Think
about the ways our society contradicts the roles in this passage. Ponder the implications of these roles in your own life.

* How does this play out in my life as a woman?
* How does this play out in my life as a man?
* How do I obey my parents in everything?
* How can I submit to my authorities?
* How can I lead the people God has allowed me to lead?
* How can I illuminate the gospel through my relationships?

Love each other the way God commands us to.

Live and work out these roles with one another striving to live as God desires us to.

Nick

4 Comments

Filed under Colossians

4 responses to “Gospel-transformed Relationships (Colossians 3:18-4:1)

  1. viministry

    I think this is a good way to rephrase it as well,

    -Your relationship with Jesus was meant to be personal, but it was never meant to be private.

    Meaning, yes, we have an indiviudal relationship with Jesus, but we are not to keep that to ourselves. We should share it with others and live our lives in such a way that people Jesus through us. We should not, and cannot, do this alone.

  2. John

    Who put the smiley face in the upper right corner of the blog? I like it.

    Anyways, it does make me sad to see the way that the world perverts relationships.

  3. Stephan

    Can we get rid of the email requirement? I’m too lazy to write it in every time I want to comment and I’ve not posted because I was so angry that I didn’t have the desire to post after I put my email address in. Not really, but come on!

    I’m liking this a lot. I agree completely that it’s hard to see the gospel as a living and breathing, organic thing. It cannot be separated from work, school, or play time. Instead, it should be at the root of everything we do and it should manifest itself through our actions and decisions we make throughout the day. It’s important to go to Christ first before anything else so he can trickle down over everything else you do that day.

  4. John

    If you enable cookies (or something that I have enabled on Firefox), it should just remember your name and e-mail. I never have to type it.

Leave a Reply

