Stories – Julie

I grew up in the church with two parents who love God. But with that, I got a mixed concoction of religion and true Christianity. I wasn’t able to decipher which was which.

I saw the flannel graph pictures, and puppet shows of Bible stories, and they all sounded great. I even came to Christ at the young age of 4 years old (one week before Thanksgiving). But I couldn’t fully comprehend what a relationship with Christ really meant until years later.

It wasn’t until I hit junior high, that my faith really began to be put to the test. It was then that I began to understand just how special a relationship with Christ is, and how I cherish it! As one who grew up in the public school system, there was this after school Christian club that I was apart of. It was there that I saw Believers worship God in a way genuine. It was as if, it was something I’d never seen before. Seeing their devotion to God, challenged me to want to worship God not just in spirit, but in truth as well.

But here’s the main biggie…I still didn’t understand what Gospel focused, and grace flowing living meant until I hit college. It was just before I came to Grace, that God began to unveil me eyes to the truth.  God has used the ministry of VI and Grace in a TREMENDOUS way!!  I’ve come to know what a true Believer should look like, and that living missionally is what God has called each and everyone of us to do!

God has placed each one of us in the positions at work, classes at school, and families we have, for a specific reason and purpose, to glorify and radiate an accurate representation of Christ. I’m learning more that this world is NOT our home. Our home is in Heaven with Christ! Therefore, it’s important that we run with perseverance the race set before us, looking to Jesus, who is the author and perfector of our faith. I have also learned within the past couple years of being apart of the Grace family, that it is completely God’s plan for my life that will prevail. That has been a huge lesson to learn, for this person who is naturally inclined to plan and set out and organize everything!

Currently I’m learning the importance of keeping God in his rightful place in my life, and not putting other activities, people, or work before him. It’s easier said than done! But for all that God has done in my life, and how He has literally given me a second chance at life when I tried to end it; how can I not desire to live a life that glorifies Him, and all that He’s done in and through me.

I am blessed to be apart of a Living Room that genuinely cares about each other, and is there for each other, as we all grow closer to God in community together. The friendships I’ve made are cherished and I thank God for each and every person!

It is my prayer that God humbles me, and continues to take away the things that are not of Him, so He can shine ever more brightly in my life. Not out of a legalistic point, but out of my love for Him. My Savior, Healer, and Redeemer, my life is in His hands to do with whatever He wants, and whenever.

Leave a comment

Filed under Stories

Leave a Reply

